Harbor Cottage Guest Reviews


Idyllic Family Home On Serene Tidal Bay, Dazzling Views, Designer Interiors. (Kimberley A. April 16, 2018)

The house is the perfect place to stay! The views are unforgettable and watching the tide variances is incredible. All of the basics are in the house, we never felt like we were missing something. It really was the perfect place for us! Fiona was always available, easy to talk to, and went above and beyond. It is truly appreciated.

Thank you for creating such a haven for us all (Alysia M. January 2, 2018)

There are no words for how restorative our time at HC was for us all… we all left there feeling more connected, stronger and ready to work hard for good things to come in the new year. One of the results of my time at HC is that I am now back in my studio working away on a new body of work.  Nothing makes me happier…so thank you for creating such a haven for us all.

You’ll never want to leave the house! (Allyson C. September 30, 2017)

Our week at Harbor Cottage was memorable. Everything we wanted to see, from lighthouses to restaurants were within a 40 minute drive. We spent a great deal of our time just hanging at the house taking advantage of the well appointed kitchen and fabulous views. Our best day was spent outside in the backyard with a fire, lounging in the Adirondack chairs and reading books. Oh, and we had an apple crisp in the oven made from fruit from the tree in the yard! If you’re looking for a place to decompress, this is the spot. Did I mention that we didn’t have the TV on all week? Now that’s a great vacation. Thank you Fiona for creating such a tranquil getaway!

Beautiful—a perfect Maine coast experience. (Ernie T., October 8, 2017)

It is exactly as advertised in Fiona’s description. The main house and guest house are beautifully done and comfortable. It is a great place to just relax, quiet and secluded, but not so secluded that you can’t get out and explore. We had six adults and were completely comfortable; able to all be together or to find a spot to read. We took a day trip to Bar Harbor and explored the local area as well. I’m not a person who typically will rate anything a 5-stars, because that means it was perfect. Well, this place is pretty close and better than 4-stars. We would gladly visit again if we have the opportunity.

The cottage is absolutely amazing (Hilary S. September 17,2017)

I just want to let you know that the cottage is absolutely amazing and it has superseded all of our expectations! Everything is perfection:) The cottage and its surroundings are pure bliss, just what the doctor ordered:) Thank you for creating such an amazing place!

We will likely return!  Thanks for creating such a magical space. (Allyson C September 30, 2017)

We had an amazing week.  Your home was perfect for us and we never got tired of looking out those windows. One of the reasons we chose the St. George area was to look at areas and homes to potentially relocate to.  Not retire, just relocate.  We loved your home the best!

We have loved being here (Joy K. July 7, 2017)

Oh thank you! We have loved being here as a family and embracing all of our fond memories of Maine. Thank you

Thank you again for sharing your retreat. (Jeff & Rachel B. March 2017)

I wanted to send a thank you and our compliments on creating a truly wonderful escape.  Everything was perfectly in order on our arrival including fresh cut flowers.  We loved the design and attention to detail – art, linens, lighting, cuddle down, a real tub, proper conical coffee grinder & French press etc., – seen throughout the property.
We look forward to an opportunity when we might be able to return during warmer weather – as I can imagine a morning coffee or afternoon libation in those Adirondack chairs is quite lovely!

Everything looked just beautiful. (Ramsay T. May 2017)

Thank You for the most wonderful stay at Harbor Cottage over Memorial Day weekend! We couldn’t have had a more relaxing time. We had a bit of every kind of weather and that was lovely, too. It was also a treat to be there at the beginning of the season, as we got to experience more places. Having Hedgerow open was a dream! Congratulations on the excellent improvements as well. Everything looked just beautiful.

You have created a lovely environment here (Rosemary M. June 17, 2017)

We are (reluctantly) packing and preparing to leave. Thank you, thank you! You have created a lovely environment here; we couldn’t have been happier. We would like to visit again next year.

Paddle boarded right away while the water was like glass (Sheri G. Aug 30 2016)

…what a day! I knew it would be special when at 7 am I spotted “our” heron from the bathroom through the window over the stairs! Paddle boarded right away while the water was like glass as the sun was emerging through the clouds!

We’ve had a wonderful week …Thanks so much…Harbor Cottage is a very beautiful and special spot ! Kudos to you for creating it!”

We had a positively perfect weekend (Nancy H., February 2016)

We had a positively perfect weekend at Harbor Cottage and hope to visit again soon…Thank you for sharing your lovely, lovely home with us. We adore it.

We had an absolutely wonderful stay – thank you! We love Harbor Cottage!” (Kim F. June 2016)

 

We loved every moment up there (Shelby P., May 30, 2016)

Thank you again for opening your home to my family and allowing us to enjoy a week in Maine that we will never forget. We loved every moment up there … Especially those quiet ones every morning sitting on the porch in those Adirondack chairs sipping tea and staring out at that amazing view! I loved the beautiful lilacs you had in the house. I hope we can make the Harbor Cottage an annual tradition. My husband and I can’t stop talking about all the special memories we made last week. Oh and I LOVED cooking in your kitchen! Thank you for having such amazing kitchen tools because picking up such beautiful produce at Hedgerow made me want to cook everyday. It was so nice to have the space and everyone around helping … I had forgotten how much I miss cooking because our NYC kitchen is sooo tiny… Thank you so much!

The ambience created by your decor just is beyond lovely (Daisy M., August 15,2016)

Oh Fiona and Tony, we have SO appreciated being able to be In your magnificent home for two weeks…Each day we say how much we love it:  the sounds. The light. The wonderful breezes that pass through (thanks to all these magnificent windows) the COMFORT…ooh lala! Bed…sofas , chairs so perfect.  The ambience created by your decor just is beyond lovely.  Fabrics!  Linens, slipcovers – “ so beautifully appointed” I guess!   The appliances, dishes, stuff we need is there.   Thank you both.

Thank you for all of your thoughtful touches (Maggi W, August 2016)

I just wanted to check in and tell you what a wonderful time we are having at HC.  I tend to wake up at the crack of dawn and am already having my coffee sitting out on the porch…Thank you for all of your thoughtful touches.  It’s all extremely comfortable and relaxing.”

I just arrived and I am speechless. (Martha R September 24 16)

I just arrived and I am speechless.
It is so beautiful. Even better than the pictures which is very hard to do.
Thank you!!

It is truly heavenly here (Hilary October 2 2016)

Again, it is truly heavenly here. The house is so amazingly decorated and so incredibly comfortable. The view is spectacular…the flowers are beautiful as well as the gorgeous handmade soaps… And we so appreciate the lovely kitchen with everything we need to cook..The details don’t go unnoticed.:) We will figure out a date and surely be back… Thank you again!!

A quintessential summer cottage (Sheila B.–February 2015)

As the architect for the renovation of this wonderful house I am biased. I/we have stayed here many times. The intrinsic character of this former country store, now turned to face the sea, is beautifully spare yet cozy; its large south facing windows convey a feeling of being in a ship at sea while eating a meal or sitting by the fire. It is ship-shape and beautifully appointed; the owners’ eye felt in every detail. One can slip into the water, feet away on a high tide or explore the Port Clyde area down the road or venture north to Rockland or Camden though we never wanted to leave.

Coastal Maine in heavy weather (Stephanie P.–February 2015)

We were there sometime in October 2014 for a conference in Camden for 3 nights, in a driving rain storm. It was lovely! The house is cozy, warm, beautiful, with a spectacular view in this case of the rain over the water. There isn’t a better place in the world to stay no matter what the weather. Bed comfortable, again with great view of the water. There is everthing you need including a working fireplace. It is also close (but not too close) to Thomaston, Rockland and Camden, so it is easy to get supplies and/or or go out for dinner.

Wonderful property with gorgeous views! (Evy–February 2015)

Lovely house and guest cottage with spectacular views. We loved being here for the month while renovating our own home in a nearby village. The interior is clean, calm, and lovely and the kitchen is fully equipped. The outdoor shower has a great view and works well, even in November! Waking up in the morning in the master bedroom to a dawn sky over ocean is very special. The woodturning stove took the edge off the cold and provided great atmosphere. I would recommend this property to everyone who values being directly on the water.

Gorgeous, romantic, fun, inspiring place. (Anonymous–February 2015)

Simply perfect! We marked our time with the tides, swam, warmed up again with the outdoor shower. Ate freshly bought foods from local markets right at the waterside. Inspiring place to be, makes one want to draw, paint, write. Beautifully and simply decorated, kitchen obviously stocked by someone who loves to cook. So cute and romantic. Cannot recommend more highly. Also lots to see and do along the coast one wants to explore Maine.